2nd day of using Mandriva 2010.1 Beta 2 – my impressions!

It’s my second day of using Mandriva 2010.1 Beta 2, Free version. My nVidia card didn’t want to work with the One version, so I installed the Free one. It wasn’t an upgrade but not exactly a clean install either – I kept the home directory of a previous installation (2010.0).

  • Installer: the function to add a password to GRUB is nice.
  • Boot time: I don’t think anything changed. My desktop PC always takes long to boot because of its 3 HDD’s and a great number of partitions.
  • GNOME 2.30: Stable. Lots of small improvements as compared to 2.28. Love the new Nautilus with 2 panes! Now I can use something more modern-looking than GNOME Commander.
  • Msec: the new msec is sooooo cool! It’s much more structured now and much simpler to use because there are so many security profiles. Also it’s now possible to run some checks every day, others every week etc. It’s very wise, helps save system resources.
  • Printing: Beta 1 couldn’t see my printer (Epson Stylus Photo 915), Beta 2 works great with it. The new printer settings window is very good.
  • Sound: PulseAudio now works flawlessly, even with my weird external soundcard.
  • Apps & Other Stuff: Mirage (a really awesome Banshee plugin) works a bit differently now. Took a couple of minutes to figure out, but that didn’t upset me really. LightsOff is a very nice game. Got Adobe Flash working in no time.
  • Bugs: Nothing serious so far. Though Firefox crashed twice as I was typing this post.
  • Weirdness: when the cursor is in the window of a Qt-based application, it switches its theme to the same one as in the login manager. Outside that window, it goes back to normal. Examples are Opera, Qsynth and the tiny app I use for my C-motech 3G modem.

Overall: Mandriva 2010 Spring will be a great release! It’s very stable & has lots of improvements.

Explore posts in the same categories: Linux

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “2nd day of using Mandriva 2010.1 Beta 2 – my impressions!”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Azalea Wynters. Azalea Wynters said: 2nd day of working with #mandriva 2010.1 Beta 2 ! Wrote some impressions here: http://wp.me/pRiFt-G #linux #gnome […]


Leave a Reply

